Manchester United
Club History
With 20 top-flight titles to their name, no team has been crowned English champions more than Manchester United.
The Red Devils have also been champions of Europe three times, with their most recent Champions League success coming in 2008, when the likes of Wayne Rooney, Cristiano Ronaldo, and Carlos Tevez powered Sir Alex Ferguson’s side to a league and European double.
Some of the greatest players in English football history have worn the famous red shirt of United, from the likes of Duncan Edwards, Sir Bobby Charlton, and George Best, through “Class of ‘92” alumni David Beckham, Ryan Giggs, and Paul Scholes. Not to mention some of the more recent stars, such as Wayne Rooney and Cristiano Ronaldo.
ICC History
Manchester United have played in six ICC tournaments. Their first participation in 2014 was highlighted by a U.S. record-breaking crowd of 109,318 fans at the University of Michigan's "Big House," as the club defeated Real Madrid in the largest soccer match in U.S. history. 2014 was a special year, as the Red Devils won the competition, beating Roma, Inter Milan, and Real Madrid in the initial group phase, and then defeating Liverpool in the final in Miami. On that afternoon, goals from Wayne Rooney, Juan Mata, and Jesse Lingard gave Manchester United a 3-1 win, making them the 2014 winners of the ICC.
The following season the club finished third from 10 ICC teams in North America and Europe. The Red Devils defeated Mexican side Club America, MLS club San Jose Earthquakes and LaLiga’s FC Barcelona, before losing to eventual champions PSG in the final game.
2019 was an exciting global tournament that saw Manchester United defeat Inter in Singapore, overpower Spurs in Shanghai, and beat AC Milan at the Principality Stadium in Cardiff, Wales. A true powerhouse in world football, the club has been a fierce competitor at the ICC through the years.
ICC Appearances: 6
Cities Played: Denver, CO (2014), Landover, MD (2014, 2017), Ann Arbor, MI (2014, 2018), Seattle, WA (2015), San Jose, CA (2015), Santa Clara, CA (2015, 2017), Chicago, IL (2015), Shanghai, China (2016, 2019), Beijing, China (2016), Houston, TX (2017), Carson, CA (2018), Miami, FL (2018), Kallang, Singapore (2019), Cardiff, Wales (2019).
Total ICC Attendance: 1,002,205 fans
Best ICC Moment: Winning the “Manchester Derby” in 2017.
Stadium – Old Trafford
With its capacity of 74,879, United’s Old Trafford – nicknamed the Theatre of Dreams – is the largest stadium in British club football (except for when Tottenham called Wembley Stadium home).
Originally opened in 1910, the famous stadium has undergone several evolutions over the years. Old Trafford had to be rebuilt after the Second World War when bomb damage forced United to play at Maine Road, home of rivals Manchester City, from 1941 to 1949.
Expanded several times during the Premier League era, capacity increased from 44,000 in the early 1990s to its current limit.
Manager – Ole Gunnar Solskjær
Adored on the red side of Manchester thanks to over a decade of excellent service and his dramatic last-minute winner in the 1999 UEFA Champions League final triumph over FC Bayern, which secured a historic Treble for United, Solskjær was a popular appointment when he replaced José Mourinho at Old Trafford in December 2018.
Initially installed as temporary boss, Solskjær quickly lifted spirits at the Theatre of Dreams by implementing an attacking style of play – as well as an unforgettable come-from-behind win over Paris Saint-Germain in the Champions League last-16. On March 28, 2019, after winning 14 of 19 games in charge, Solskjær was signed as United’s coach on a three-year deal.
Adhering to club traditions of fast, forward-thinking football and the use of skillful wingers, United are still one of Europe’s most entertaining teams.
Key Players
Bruno Fernandes
Bruno Fernandes is the heartbeat of this United side.
One of the most creative members of the Red Devils’ midfield, Manchester United signed Bruno from Sporting for 55M GBP in January 2020.
David de Gea
Regarded as the one of the best goalkeepers in the world, the Spaniard has been named Manchester United’s Player of the Year a record four times.
Signed from Atlético de Madrid as a 20-year-old in 2011, the United No. 1 overcame a difficult first season in England to develop into a world-class keeper.
Marcus Rashford
After bursting onto the scene with two goals in his first-team debut at the age of 18, Rashford has become one of United’s most reliable performers.
A deadly finisher with lightning pace, the 23-year-old has established himself as a regular in the starting XI and is demonstrating why he is considered one of Europe’s brightest talents.
Presenting Sponsor
Official Sponsors
Champions Cup